Four Robotics Teams Qualify for State BEST Championship

Dec. 1, 2022 - This year, four robotics teams representing the Comal Independent School District qualified for the Texas BEST/UIL State Championship which takes place Thursday, Dec. 1, through Saturday, Dec. 3, in Frisco, Texas.

The four teams represent Canyon Lake High School, Hill Country College Preparatory High School, Spring Branch Middle School and Smithson Valley Middle School. These two high school teams and two middle school teams advanced after competing in the San Antonio BEST Regional Competition in late October.

In the BEST award category, the SBMS team took the title, coming in first place with the SVMS team in second place and the HCCPHS team in fourth overall. This award is based on the combination of scores from the team’s notebook, marketing presentation, team exhibit, interview and robot performance.

Additionally, the HCCPHS team came in first place among UIL Small teams at the regional competition; and the CLHS team came in third in robot competition category.

For the second year in a row, the SVMS team received the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) award, which is given to the team that demonstrates the most initiative, cohesiveness and overall excellence in all facets of competition.

Five more teams representing Comal ISD also participated in the San Antonio BEST regional competition including teams from Davenport High School, Memorial Early College High School, Pieper High School, Pieper Ranch Middle School and Smithson Valley High School.

This year marks the 30th season for BEST Robotics which chose the theme “Made 2 Order,” for this fall’s challenge. With this theme, students are focusing their efforts on a global world challenge – improving the supply chain. They are finding fulfillment solutions, using their robots as part of the supply chain production and more.

Read more about this year’s theme.


Canyon Lake HS Robotics Team

Coached by Patrick Fallin. Team members include Jackson Alvarez, William Bright, Kaylee Caraway, Robert Castillo, Noah Chandler, Tyler Dow, James Garza, Santino Jebaudayakumar, Brodie Matherne, Kevin Mendoza, Erick Ortiz, Jacob Reed, Chief Rendon, Damon Sanders, James Stevens and Regina Suarez.

Hill Country College Preparatory HS Team

Coached by Richard Muenich. Team members include Moises Alvarado, Kai Anderson, Owen Barr, Jacob Bautista, Steven Brown, Ty Fonseca, Isaac Fosler, Wesley Frazier, Karen Greenhill, Madeleine Hosek, Jakson Kimball, Skyler King, Dustin Lehmann, Colin Leos, Michelle Linares-Moreno, Edith Lujan, Kylie McCranie, Talan Minten, William Olajos, Jackson Olivarez, Oluwaseun Olufemi, Madeleine Patten, Brianna Schmeis, Andrew Schmidt, Adan Sepeda, Keshav Singh, Addison Taylor, Katarina Topping, Isabella Villarreal, Sasha Williams and Sara Ziegler.

Spring Branch Middle School Team

Coached by Sarah Burkhardt. Team members include Emily Barnard, James Bush, Thomas Cauley, Thomas Chick, Austin Crowder, Ethan Espey, Alaina Feehery, Gracelyn Garcia, Alexander Harkins, Connor Hinojosa, Griffin Kalapaca, Johnny Kane, Sophia Kastis, Coleby Keith, Adalynne Klinksiek, Caleigh Kuzmak, Kolbey McCauley, Ryder McGinnis, Max Marinelli, Juan Quantanilla, Soren Schuster, Chase Sellers, Hayden Sellers, Evan Sepeda, Kylee VanAusdall, James Willey and Natalee Willey.

Smithson Valley Middle School Team

Coached by Allison Hallmark and Melissa Monroe. Team members include Richard Paulie Alvarado, Samuel Asbury, Brandon Butz, Mace Carter, Austin Ciaravino, Annabelle Cisneros, Liam Deyoung, Matthew Freeman, Oliver Goodman, Sonny Gray, Austin Hobbs, Braden Hoelscher, Jack Jurica, Anna Larson, Scarlette McCleary, Philip Martin, Logan Miller, Coleman Milliken, Parker Moodie, Jackson Niccum, Kaden Overstreet, Caleb Real, Gabi Richmond, Hayden Sandbak, Marshall Schiel, Jaxon Smith, Elanor Somers, Rady Torres and Jordan Wolfe.





Read more Comal ISD news here.